The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-09-2013, 07:17 AM
Charter Member

Default Looking for a learning agenda

I am self taught or untaught as the case may be with, looking to settle on a more structured learning program. I aspire to be an accomplished fingerstyle/folk style guitar player. I play solo for my own pleasure. I am looking for advise on either a good book based course or a dvd course to follow. My internet and old Mac are slow enough that I am not interested in online courses. Any ideas?
Old 01-09-2013, 08:09 AM

can you narrow it down a bit more? Are you wanting to play like Kottke, like Don Ross, like Preston Reed, like Martin Simpson, like Big Bill Broonzy...? Name a few people/songs, and you'll get better suggestions.
Old 01-09-2013, 08:34 AM

i've been learning fingerstyle blues and been following stefan grossman's learning process: http://www.guitarvideos.com/the-learning-process

I started with Fingerpicking Guitar Techniques vols 1 and 2 and now i'm on Fingepicking Country Blues. I don't know if fingerstyle blues is really your cup of tea, but i definitely feel i'm making progress. It's not really lessons so much as just learning songs, but each song you learn builds on the techniques learned in the previous ones, and by the time you're finished, you'll have a solid foundation in alternate-bass fingerpicking and have a pretty good repertoire of country blues. I'm enjoying it quite a bit.
Old 01-09-2013, 08:35 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by offkey View Post