The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 10-21-2010, 04:12 PM

Default How do you finish your custom guitar?

How do the different luthiers on here finish their guitars?
Do most use the same material and sprayers? Do you have spray booths in your shop?
Is there a technique and art to finishing just as there is to building the guitar in the first place?
Do custom guitars have the same as factory guitars-in terms of glossy finish?
Do most do their own finish or send out to a finisher?

Thanks
Old 10-21-2010, 05:19 PM

I'm not a professional builder, but I am very interested in guitar construction. There are a fair few ways to finish a guitar. I think it is generally personal preference on what finish someone uses. However, from what I have read on various forums, finishing is just as much of an art as building a guitar. Some people, devote all their time into doing this job and hence become very talented finishes who do work for other builders, I guess like people who do inlay work.

I'm sure some of our resident builders will soon jump in and give their personal views!
Old 10-21-2010, 06:23 PM

There is absolutely an art to finishing! For me, getting a perfectly level and glossy finish is even more challenging that building the rest of the guitar! As for outsourcing finishing, it is common, but many people do their own finishing. I've always done my own finish work, but I recently moved into a new shop without a spray booth so I may have to get someone else to do them for me from now on. It kinda saddens me because I really like the finishing process!
Old 10-21-2010, 06:23 PM

I will only answer for me. I do my own finishing, as well as everything else for the build. The finish is a very important aspect of an acoustic guitar. I want to control everything about a guitar that will have my name on it.