The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-27-2013, 11:55 PM

Default Saving bone dust....am I the only one?

Many years ago when I was a budding young luthier (i.e. I was changing strings and doing basic work) I was told by the shop luthier that whenever I was filing a bone nut or saddle to save as much of the dust as possible and keep it in a container in my toolbox. This has come in handy many times for filling in nut slots. Yet....no one Ive ever talked to has ever heard of this practice. Any one here that does this? I also save rosewood and ebony dust for fill in and chip repair.
Old 04-28-2013, 03:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NurseLuthier View Post
Many years ago when I was a budding young luthier (i.e. I was changing strings and doing basic work) I was told by the shop luthier that whenever I was filing a bone nut or saddle to save as much of the dust as possible and keep it in a container in my toolbox. This has come in handy many times for filling in nut slots. Yet....no one Ive ever talked to has ever heard of this practice. Any one here that does this? I also save rosewood and ebony dust for fill in and chip repair.
Loads of techs and luthiers do it. I've got a small pot containing a couple of teaspoons of bone dust. I keep it next to my gas fire to keep it dry as it is hydroscopic.
Yamaha CPX-700/12
Yamaha LS16
Yamaha FG-300
Yamaha FG-580
Vox V2000-DR

+ electric guitars..
Old 04-28-2013, 08:39 AM

Quote:
Any one here that does this? I also save rosewood and ebony dust for fill in and chip repair.
I don't save bone dust - it never occurred to me to do so and I can easily make some if needed. However, I have saved containers of dust of ebony, rosewood, mahogany, pakauk and a few others.
Old 04-28-2013, 10:05 AM

I'v never kept bone dust. But I do have a wood dust collection. I mix it with super glue and use it as a filler .
Old 04-28-2013, 02:15 PM