The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 04-26-2012, 07:14 PM

Default Yamaha NTX1200R vs Cordoba Fusion 14

I am thinking of either getting a Yamaha NTX1200R or Cordoba Fusion 14. I want a 'fusion' guitar (nylon strings with steel-stringed neck) and these 2 are within my budget.

I was wondering if I could get help from anyone who has trialed or owned these guitars?

I will probably have to buy them without playing them (I know, it not recommended) but I am situated in Oz and it's cheaper to get them from the US. I have read comments that Cordoba build can be inconsistent. Does this inconsistency extend to the Fusion 14 range?

Thanks in advance for any/all replies.
Old 04-28-2012, 04:24 PM

I can't comment on the Yamaha but I have owned a Cordoba Fusion 14 RS for about three years. I am a serious amateur non-gigging musician. My primary acoustic guitar is a Taylor 414. I wanted a nylon string that would have a narrower neck with some slight radius to it so it would be more comfortable for a steel string player. I tried several before settling on the Cordoba. I haven't been disappointed. The sound is true to its classical nature unamplified. It has both an acoustic mic and a pickup inside. You can balance the tone between the two when plugged in. I've been completely satisfied. When reading reviews you see the term "good value for the price" a lot. I hate that because I want to know if it sounds good, not just just good for the price. Unfortuantely that is what you have here. I like the guitar and I like the sound. At the time I was looking I played some higher end classicals in the Cordoba line at around $2500. They sound better than this guitar, but for around $800 street price I've been very happy. Good luck.
Old 05-05-2012, 02:33 PM