The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-16-2018, 11:27 PM

Default Very Beginner with very beginner question

I have an acoustic electric 24 fret tuned to EADGBE.

I have read a lot of the postings on scales, changing a key to a song by using barre chords, or using a capo.

I also read the articles on Alternative Guitar Tunings.

I don't have much experience with music at all and I am a disabled veteran trying to learn music to help out in church with music. We only have a couple of people who can play anything and if one is not there the pastor has to play the piano and that is about all we have.

My questions are:[LIST=1][*]My guitar is tuned, if that is the right word, to EADGBE, which gives me an open strum E chord.
[*]If I want to play a song in the key of D, with the guitar tuned to EADGBE where do I put a capo? Would I say the chord is E, because all strings strummed at the same time give an open E, and go up the octave, if that is the right word, to D? F,F#,G,G#,A,A#,B,C,C# (Capo 9th fret?)
[*][I read about octaves and know that each string will change 1/2 to 1 octave as I go up the neck till I reach the 12th fret then they should be the same as the 1st fret. But what about all 6 strings strummed at the same time to give the key of D? Would that require an alternate tuning of all 6 strings?

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks in advance for your patience and understanding.
Old 02-16-2018, 11:34 PM

Hi Okie. EADGBE is not open E. It's commonly referred to as "standard tuning" and is how the vast majority of guitars are tuned. But, it's not an "open" tuning. When you strum those 6 open strings without fretting anything you are not making a chord. As a beginner, I'd suggest you stick with standard tuning (EADGBE) and learn some chords, rather than try to learn alternate tunings.
Old 02-17-2018, 01:07 AM