The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 08-15-2005, 04:02 PM

Default "B" chord

Hey, i'm a begining guitarist and i'm having a heck of a time mastering the B chord. Any Advice??
Old 08-15-2005, 04:07 PM

The only advice I can offer right now is that there are a lot of ways to play a Bmaj chord.

Obviously the barre chord on the second fret is tough for a beginner, but keep practicing and it'll get easier. At some point, you're going to have to learn it, there's no getting around that. Personally, I tend to play it with my index finger barred at the second fret and then, I barre the other 3 notes with my pinky ( x24442)

That which is good or great makes itself known, no matter how loud the clamor of denial. -- Theodore F. MacManus

I've got a fever and the only prescription is more cowbell -- Christopher Walken
Old 08-15-2005, 04:19 PM

Heya Sporty! You really made me laugh. I started playing about 3 months ago, and said the same thing! Click here if you wish to read my rant on the entire chord of B.

The best advice I can give you, as one newbie to another, is this:

A "correct" B chord is a barre chord like this
X

The first challenge to tackle is barre chords themselves. If you're like I was, You can barely make a barre chord RING once! It's hard because the finger strenght isn't there yet, but that will come with time (about, oh, 3 months work for me!).

The second challenge is with the B chord itself. I can't shove all 3 of my sausage fingers on the fourth fret. So, instead, when I need to play a B chord, I end up playing a slight variation, a Bsus2 (correct me if I'm wrong), which looks like:
X

That works for me. Hope that helps! If not, do what I did and boycott the B note entirely!

Last edited by Pigfarm; 08-15-2005 at 05:03 PM.
Old 08-15-2005, 04:32 PM