The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-20-2018, 09:22 PM

Default Tuning the B string .

G'day friends,
I've been playing Guitar for many years now and have a pretty good ear .. but .
I have a devil of a time tuning the B string... all the others,no problem.
Any one else have a similar problem ? or have an opinion on why I seem to have this trouble ?
Regards from OZ ... Charlie
Old 01-20-2018, 09:34 PM

Ha ha ha...have always felt this way! Get it as close as you can. I think this may be Werner Heisenberg's fault!
Old 01-20-2018, 09:40 PM

Charlie, it's not just a down under thing. I have had the same problem especially on one of my guitars. I got some help from Todd (Fitness1) on this board about this problem which tends to be due to the saddle. He gave me some advice on compensating the saddle, which is basically to remove some of the material on the front side of the saddle beneath the B string. I did it with a semi round file at about a 45* angle. Here's a picture of mine. This has helped my B string intonate better. Edit: I also forgot to mention as others have said below that using sweetened tunings helps a great deal.

Last edited by mattwood; 01-21-2018 at 06:43 AM.
Old 01-20-2018, 09:42 PM

Just a thought for you on this - you know, the E to B is a perfect 4th, a pretty easy interval to tune (I often tune with a unison, playing 5 on the B string to match the E, then also testing with an octave B on the E string - I hope that makes sense).

But having tuned the B 'perfectly', the next string G makes a wide major third (too wide for my ears, but that's the nature of our tuning). If you get tempted to bring the B down because it's too far away from the G... well, don't. It's just a wide major third, and correct given the notes we tune to.

Does this help at all?
Old 01-20-2018, 09:42 PM
Charter Member