The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-24-2013, 01:17 PM

Default Help me better understand Improvisation

I have been playing for a little over 10 years, I know a decent amount of theory and how scales apply to chords. I have played in bands and spent all my free weekends in college jamming with my buddy. I "feel" like I should know how this works - I have put my time in and done my due diligence in trying to understand the key to improv. soloing "in the moment". I know I have all the skills and coordination to do it, but it seems like my head always gets in the way!

I have a load of questions, but to try and keep people from shying away, please answer any question you can or feel comfortable answering:

1.) Do you hear the notes in your head while soloing? How many notes ahead of your current one do you hear, or are you just thinking of the overall "road map" of how you want your solo to sound? For example, do you hum the solo in your mind WHILE you are playing it, or is it more of a "Man, I am playing along to this chord - when the next change comes, I will start my build up".