The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 01-15-2024, 05:27 PM

Default Ovation Matrix 1632-4 Headstock Repair

Howdy, all. First post here. I figured, since I couldn't find much info on how to do this repair when I looked the other day, I might as well join up and post this for future searchers.

So I'm an electric bassist, primarily, converted from a Tele player... but I got my start playing acoustics in college. Back then, the best one I had access to was my cousin's Ovation; recently, a bandmate and I decided to play some Irish folk for a fundraiser, so I figured I could jump in on acoustic guitar.

Which would also allow me to buy an acoustic!

I searched out some Ovations, decided what I wanted (and didn't want), and found myself captivated by the Ovation Matrix, an odd duckling made in the late '70s/early '80s. For those who don't know, the only wood is the top and the bridge; the rest is all plastic or aluminum, including a cast-aluminum fretboard with immovable integral frets.

The price was right, I was intrigued, and I waited for the guy to ship. The moment I saw the box, I knew there'd be damage; alas, the tip of the headstock was broken off.

Ouch.

Nasty...

So. I reached out to the seller and we're waiting to see how long it'll take the 'verb to figure out how to compensate me for the poor packing job.

Meanwhile, I reckoned there was no reason not to do something with this.
Old 01-15-2024, 05:36 PM

You'll note in those pics that there's an aluminum strut in the headstock, which is cast as a part of the neck; these guitars are famously strong and resistant to any kind of neck movement. You'll also see that the bulk of the neck is, well, foam. And that there is a resin shell surrounding it all.