The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 02-09-2009, 10:14 PM

Default partsocaster vs authentic

Hi I'm in the market for a tele deluxe, in fact I'm in talks with taylorman22 trying to solidify a deal on his used tele deluxe. I'm fairly new to electrics but I'm wondering, what's the advantage of going authentic fender vs a partsocaster with high quality parts. Shur and usmasters are pretty pricey so they're probable out of my league, but it seems like there are much cheaper alternatives out than going with an actual fender brand guitar. Also I'm hearing a lot of good things about MIM tele's that are out there...folks are saying it maybe worth a look...I do have enough funds to get a tele, but wanted to double check for any additional advice...if I were to get a nice partsocaster for say half of what I would pay for a new tele deluxe, I could always use my leftover funds to finally get an alnico blue dog speaker, and an NYC pedalboard I've been eyeing up....well advice would sure be welcomed...thanks

Rainsong WS1000
Taylor "T6" Custom w/added element UST
USA Tele Deluxe
Ibanex SRX-500
Vox AC-15

Korg Pitch Black (2x), Fishman Aura 16, BBE Sonic Stomp, LR Baggs PADI, Boss TU-2, Sansamp Tech21 Bass Driver, Boss GE-7 Bass EQ, MXR Micro Amp, Keely BD-2, Fulltone OCD, Fulltone Fulldrive 2 Mosfet, Boss DD-20, BBE supacharger

Up next: Empress EQ, Radial J48
Old 02-09-2009, 10:50 PM

A quality Parts Tele would cost you around 900-1200.
Old 02-09-2009, 10:57 PM

Well the Fender gurus would say that unless you are buying a Telecaster dated before Leo Fender left the company, you aren't getting an authentic Fender.