The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-28-2022, 06:54 PM
Charter Member

Default Looking at the Boss AD-10 & T-Rex Soulmate

Any opinions? I've only read reviews and seen videos. I want EQ, light FX of Delay and reverb. Tuner also.

They seem similar. I like the "Ambience" FX of the AD-10 (I hear in videos). I like the simpler buttons of the T-Rex. I have no interest in Looping at all.
Old 08-28-2022, 08:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshall View Post
Any opinions? I've only read reviews and seen videos. I want EQ, light FX of Delay and reverb. Tuner also.

They seem similar. I like the "Ambience" FX of the AD-10 (I hear in videos). I like the simpler buttons of the T-Rex. I have no interest in Looping at all.
I've been using the AD10 for several years and I think it's great. It's one of the better sounding acoustic preamps and the effects are very nice. The acoustic resonance helps improve piezos, the boost is clean, and I do use the looper and it's great. I also like that you have two separate inputs with two independent eqs. One thing that has really come in handy is that your settings are stored so if the knobs get turned between gigs in whatever bag you take it in, your sound isn't messed up. That probably happened to me a lot over the years with numerous pedals.
Old 08-28-2022, 08:49 PM

I should add that I was curious about the Soul Mate, mainly because the footswitches are built in. I found several used ones under $400 in the last couple of weeks, but ultimately I decided the AD10 is really a fantastic unit and there's probably a reason I see more Soulmates for sale than AD10s.
Old 08-29-2022, 10:07 AM
Charter Member

Yeah. The foot switches are tempting. But I don't do much messing around. Once I find a sound I like I don't change much.