The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 08-18-2017, 05:41 PM

Default Ukulele String separation ??

On my Baritone MaKala the D and G wound strings have pulled apart at the frets..
the winding has broke exposing the nylon core....is this normal ?
It has Aquila Supernylut strings on it from the factory... and I've only had it for a few weeks... ??
Old 08-18-2017, 06:16 PM

IIRC Aquila posts a notice on their packaging explaining that this may happen with their wound strings - small consolation, but at least I give them points for honesty. I'm relatively new to the uke game myself, so I can't offer any real suggestions for replacement strings - I'd recommend calling up one of the specialty uke vendors and asking them for advice...
Old 08-20-2017, 03:20 PM

Please read: the wound strings used for all Aquila ukulele sets such as soprano low G, concert low G, tenor low G, baritone in guitar tuning, and a few other varieties that use a wound string, use a very fine wire wrapping on the wound strings in order to produce their excellent tone. These strings do not have the long life span of the more durable but poor sounding wound strings offered by other manufacturers. Players who use Aquila ukulele sets with wound strings please be aware that the wound strings will need to be replaced much more often than the plain Nylgut strings that make up the rest of the set. We advise that players purchase 3 or 4 extra single wound strings with every set. When played often a wound string may last only about 1-2 weeks, which is also dependent on the condition of the frets. This is considered to be normal wear for these strings and is not a defective string. Thank you for your understanding. Players who do not want to replace strings as often as this are advised to use Aquila ukulele sets that have all Nylgut strings, which are most sets that have a high g.