The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 11-11-2016, 11:37 AM

Default Economics, health and custom guitars.

OK, So I've been playing through really extreme pain for the last two years. All those great endorphins and the oxytocin that streams into my body while playing allows me to play but when I pack up my guitar I'm in agony. I've switched to largely guitars that are smaller, wedged and beveled. But now weight and pull on my back is a major issue. I still play standing and don't feel I can do what I do sitting.

How would one approach a light guitar build with light woods? What woods would work best for a light weight guitar built for performance? I would need a wedge and bevel and still need a pickup. The pickups tend to add weight. I've been looking at Misi Pickups as they are active but no battery pack, plus you still get "some" control of the sound without much outboard gear. The less I carry the better at this point.

Any thoughts on woods and light builds! Lightweight but easy tone and volume management from a Pickup?

Does anyone make a good custom lightweight guitar strap, out of silk maybe?
Old 11-11-2016, 12:03 PM
Charter Member

The lightest guitar I ever had was a featherweight mahogany Martin 000-15. Incredibly lightweight.

You can get an external pre-amp to save that weight as well.

Taylor GC7, GA3-12, SB2-C, SB2-Cp...... Ibanez AVC-11MHx , AC-240
Old 11-11-2016, 12:21 PM