The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 05-26-2017, 12:31 AM

Default Torrefied sitka and mahogany - video and pictures

There is a lot of talk on the old interweb about this torrefied spruce. Is it all hype? Only one way to find out... I made one.

Nigel
http://www.nkforsterguitars.com/blog...pruce-guitars/

Last edited by N K Forster; 05-26-2017 at 12:53 AM.
Old 05-26-2017, 03:37 AM

That certainly does sound and look wonderful (as we would expect from one of your creations).

Does a guitar sound better as it ages, or does it just sound different?

I've been playing My Lowden for 20 years now and I would say it sounds different now to when it was new. That said, it sounded fantastic new and still sounds fantastic now - just different. I feel if I'd just jumped in now I would have missed that transition over the years.

However, if this guitar sounds this good 'new', how different will it be as it ages?

Well Nigel, to find out if it sounds 'old' when 'new' you made a guitar. I wish I had the funds to order one so I could monitor any change over the next twenty years +.

You'll have to keep this thread going for a couple of decades so we can all judge

YouTube
Old 05-26-2017, 12:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozzy the dog View Post
That certainly does sound and look wonderful (as we would expect from one of your creations).

Does a guitar sound better as it ages, or does it just sound different?

I've been playing My Lowden for 20 years now and I would say it sounds different now to when it was new. That said, it sounded fantastic new and still sounds fantastic now - just different. I feel if I'd just jumped in now I would have missed that transition over the years.

However, if this guitar sounds this good 'new', how different will it be as it ages?