The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 10-29-2015, 03:16 PM

Default Rookie recording question

I was looking for an interface to use for simple recordings in Garage Band for song ideas and whatnot. I have some experience with Presonus as we use a Studiolive 24 mixer at church.

Anyway any thoughts on this package http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...%20usb&index=1 ?
Old 10-29-2015, 05:06 PM
Charter Member

That looks like a lot of gear for a very low price If you would actually use the midi controller key board it seems like a pretty good starter system . With the added advantage of including the Presonus Studio One (Artist version ) Daw software
So you would have either it or Garage Band to use.
The only thing which may be no issue at all really, is that GB is 64 bit and Studio One Artist is 32 bit so if you ever decided to get any third plugins you would have to decide which DAW to get them for because they would not be cross DAW compatible .

That said: For starting out and getting into recording that is not any kind of big deal and Studio One comes with a pretty good selection of plugins and virtual midi instruments.

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1

Mobile MBP M1 Pro , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Sonoma 14.4
Old 10-29-2015, 06:06 PM

Thanks for the response.
I am actually familiar with studio one. I have used it a little bit with my church's Presonus sound board. I find it usable by me and I'm far from an expert. My wife would use the midi controller more than I would since I don't actually play keys but I dapple a bit.
Old 10-29-2015, 07:25 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by padrejamie View Post
Thanks for the response.