The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-25-2014, 08:24 PM
Charter Member

Default Learning Guitar: Playing More Than One?

As a total newbie, I'm wondering if I can make more progress by sticking to just one guitar or alternating between two or more. What about moving between an acoustic and an electric?
Old 09-25-2014, 08:58 PM

No reason you can't play more than one. I switch off instruments and music styles just to keep it interesting. If you get bored playing acoustic, switch to electric for a while, then switch back. Do what you want. Ain't no right or wrong.
Yamaha FSX-5
Yamaha LS-TA
Yamaha CG-TA
Epiphone EJ-200SCE
Breedlove Wildwood Organic Concert
Hohner Essential Roots SOSB
Epiphone Houndog Roundneck
Dobro Model 29
Taylor 214ce-N
Cordoba C9 Spruce
1972 Pablo De La Cruz Classical
? Eusebio Huipe Cedar/PE Flamenco
Godin Multiac Duet Ambiance
Cordoba Stage

Last edited by Vognell; 09-25-2014 at 09:19 PM.
Old 09-25-2014, 09:12 PM

There are small (or large) differences from guitar to guitar. If you feel comfortable and do not find it to be messing with your learning, gopher it.

~Dave
~Music self-played is happiness self-made
Old 09-25-2014, 09:16 PM

Heck yeah! Play as many as you can!
Old 09-25-2014, 09:33 PM

Very different dynamics between electric and acoustic. Electric is much more "alive," in that you have to watch your damping of strings, control things a bit better that way. Acoustic, you let things ring. it's all good if it makes you aware of playing dynamics.

You'll find you tend to gravitate to one guitar at a time. I play my acoustic most, my electric next, then my bass. I have a tenor guitar, also, that I have been playing a lot, just because it's so different.
Old 09-26-2014, 03:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickwaugh View Post