The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 02-08-2018, 02:42 AM

Default Pair of condenser mics or a single?

Very very new to the recording side of things and so I have no knowledge here. I already have a scarlett solo which has a plugin for a 1/4" cable and an XLR input.
Question here is, would I need 2 XLR jacks for a pair of mics or do they somehow connect to one jack?

If I'd need 2 xlr inputs, then Ill just get a single mic.

Looking at an AKG perception 170 for a single...any other budget recommendations? Max $150, and just recording basic slower paced fingerstyle songs.

Thanks!
Old 02-08-2018, 04:02 AM

Each microphone needs its own XLR input, so best to just get a single.

I expect you know already but I guess it won't hurt to say that microphones don't come with XLR cables. If you need one, there's no need to spend a lot on it - for what you need a cheap one will do fine.
Old 02-08-2018, 08:42 AM

You might want to search for some used deals on mics (reverb.com, etc). The AKG P170 is $99, the next AKG model up is the P220 - an LDC (large diameter condenser), $150 new and is a nice bit of kit, with included shockmount, switchable hi-pass filter and pad built in, and it comes in a neat metal case..

My music: https://mikebirchmusic.bandcamp.com

2020 Taylor 324ceBE
2017 Taylor 114ce-N
2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73(?) Epiphone 6830E 6 string

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone

Kala baritone ukulele
Seagull 'Merlin'
Washburn Mandolin
Luna 'tatoo' a/e ukulele
antique banjolin
Squire J bass
Old 02-08-2018, 09:00 AM

I have a Seagull Peppino signature Jumbo Steel string and have recently recorded a demo using a pair of Rhode M5 condensor mics (with some of the 1/4 inch direct out also mixed in). Really impressed with the quality for the price.

https://soundcloud.com/lefunk-3/lelo...ideo-demo-2018