The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-20-2017, 09:33 PM

Default Neck width preference

I have been playing guitar for well over 50 years. Like most, I started out on guitars with necks of 1 11/16", which is pretty standard for steel strings. Somewhere along the line, I encountered necks of 1 3/4", then 1 13/16", then 1 7/8", and finally 2".

Although I have only average size hands, I find that I like wider necks better than narrow, as long as they have the right shape, which for me is a mild V. I really find squarish or D shapes to be unacceptable, no matter the width.

I really enjoy my Gallagher with it's custom 2" wide neck. It simply has the right shape. And I like the extra room I get for both chord work and picking. Going back to my wife's 1 11/16" Martin seems confining.

What's your preference?
Old 09-20-2017, 09:42 PM
Get off my lawn kid

I like low profile necks which all my guitars have. My Seagull has the widest neck (aside from the cheap classical). It too has a low oval and I play it to stretch my hand and work on my technique. If I can play something on the Seagull it only gets easier to play on the other necks.

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 09-20-2017, 11:01 PM
Guest 1511

1 11/16th is just a tad narrow for me for some things, but is perfect for slide. For general purpose playing 1.75 or 1.72 is my preference. I can make barre chords just a bit easier on 1.72. I'm not sure if that's actually due to width or my familiarity and experience with that width. For finger style 1.75 seems just right.
Old 09-21-2017, 12:54 AM