The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-20-2016, 07:09 PM

Default Dovetail vs bolt on

I feel like this may be one of those debated issues that will never be resolved because of personal tastes, but as far as BUILDING goes.... Which do you like to deal with most? Dove tail or bolt on.... And why?
Thank you for any input / experience
B

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 11-20-2016, 07:11 PM

And here we go again...

Done em all, have evolved to bolt on butt joints. Simple to make, simple to service.
Old 11-20-2016, 07:56 PM

Didn't mean to start a thread that has been beaten to death... I should have searched first , which I've now done. Being a noob I didn't realize it had been sooooo debated consider the thread done IMO. LOTS of info out there.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 11-20-2016, 08:16 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon/Tinker View Post
And here we go again...

Done em all, have evolved to bolt on butt joints. Simple to make, simple to service.

When you say bolt on butt joint, do you mean that the bottom of the heel just butts into the top of the body, no tenon?
Old 11-20-2016, 08:32 PM

Yup.

Old 11-21-2016, 08:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon/Tinker View Post
And here we go again...

Me too. I love dovetails and that's how I started off building but the easy and simplicity of a bolt on butt joint and the ease and simplicity of making adjustments to it in the future are just too hard to resist.

The only time I use a bolt on M&T is if the heal has to be a super slim profile as is the case with the Selmers I build.

But in either case I've abandoned the dovetail.
Old 11-21-2016, 09:33 AM
Charter Member