The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-18-2012, 09:29 AM

Default That feeling when...

...you piece together some riffs and runs to make a good sounding little ditty is pretty awesome!

I'm fairly new at guitar, so I'm trying to soak up as much information as I can...I've learned some basic riffs, runs, and other drills through a few different sites, chatting with some folks, and experimenting on my own. I finally nailed it 2 nights ago when, on a whim, I linked 3 of these little riffs together! It sounded kinda cool, albeit a little disjointed...But with some work, I'm sure I can make it sound smooth
Old 12-18-2012, 09:52 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Craig View Post
...you piece together some riffs and runs to make a good sounding little ditty is pretty awesome!

I'm fairly new at guitar, so I'm trying to soak up as much information as I can...I've learned some basic riffs, runs, and other drills through a few different sites, chatting with some folks, and experimenting on my own. I finally nailed it 2 nights ago when, on a whim, I linked 3 of these little riffs together! It sounded kinda cool, albeit a little disjointed...But with some work, I'm sure I can make it sound smooth
Hi Craig....

Yup. I relate. The thing that helped me to do this with more regularity was to begin keeping a small recording device near me in my practice space. I would be inspired with a new ditty in the middle of something else and think "I'll have to remember that…" only to forget it.

Now I capture those and listen to them later. And definitely stringing them together is viable.

Another thing I've found useful is to jam on them with my gigging partner so we get two player's takes on them. We hear things differently and collaborate on many things musical.

Baby #1.1
Baby #1.2
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Baby #05

Larry's songs...