The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-17-2012, 12:24 AM

Default Playing clean chords

I am just starting out - working on playing a chromatic scale as a finger exercise and playing just three chords - C, G, and D7. I find it very difficult to play a clean chord - I almost always have a string or two muted because I'm touching it with a finger. No matter how hard I try to use my fingertips, I can't seem to get all the strings clean - I guess I have fat fingers.

Is this something that will steadily improve as I practice and as my fingers get calloused? If it matters, I'm playing a Yamaha FG700S. Thanks and I hope you can offer me some encouragement and advice. Jon
Old 12-17-2012, 12:55 AM

Default Playing clean chords

I had to chuckle, I am pretty sure everyone goes through that, but it you truly do have fat fingers you could look into a guitar with a wider neck, or at least try one at a music store to see if it is a problem.
Old 12-17-2012, 12:57 AM
phmike

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonCr View Post
I find it very difficult to play a clean chord - I almost always have a string or two muted because I'm touching it with a finger. No matter how hard I try to use my fingertips, I can't seem to get all the strings clean - I guess I have fat fingers.
If 700+ pound Brudda Iz can play clean chords on a ukulele then you can probably do it on a guitar after some time in the woodshed
Old 12-17-2012, 01:00 AM
Charter Member

This is a decent video on the left hand. I would have my thumb a little more towards the center of the neck, but it depends in part on hand size and the chord being played.
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x8m...ion-on-an_news

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 12-17-2012, 01:07 AM