The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 03-30-2024, 02:53 PM

Default David Grier

I just got tickets for my son and me to go see David Grier, the flatpicking legend, at Harry's Guitar Shop in Raleigh, NC, on April 12th. He is also doing a workshop there on the 14th, but I cannot make that.

I am pretty stoked. I saw him once back in the 90s with the group Psychograss, and they were incredible. And he is simply one of my all-time favorite flatpickers. Harry's is a really small place, so it will be unquestionably intimate and personal. I will offer a review of the show after I see it, for anyone interested.

And if you don't know who David Grier is, YouTube now, lol!
Old 03-30-2024, 05:28 PM

Here is a good example of David Grier's talent and ability: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U54WTozvOvE
Old 03-30-2024, 05:31 PM
Charter Member

David Grier is a phenomenon. He is so musical and so accomplished, and entirely self-taught. Musical genius will work its will.
Old 03-30-2024, 05:44 PM

He's pretty darn great. I'm glad he's still performing. He used to be talked about all the time on a flatpicking forum, but he's slipped under the radar (or mine at least) for quite a few years. Very much worth seeking out and seeing live.
Old 03-30-2024, 05:49 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by soma5 View Post
David Grier is a phenomenon. He is so musical and so accomplished, and entirely self-taught. Musical genius will work its will.
What's self-taught? His dad was an accomplished bluegrass musician and David was brought up surrounded by the music and musicians like Clarence White and Tony Rice and others. Seems like his story, as far as imbibing bluegrass guitar goes, is similar to that of many others of the realm! And yes, the result is another great musician.
Old 03-30-2024, 06:01 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by soma5 View Post