The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 03-20-2014, 05:23 PM

Default New (first) Banjo Day!

Howdy folks,

Recording King RK-R36 five-string resonator. I'm already attempting Fireball Mail.

A little more expensive than I'd hoped, but it's all checked, set-up and spiked as well as with a case so I'm very happy, especially since the case is pretty cool and the set-up is flawless.

Since I'm new to the banjo - yes it's hella loud and yes it's crazy heavy and yes my jam buddies are gonna hate me if I show up with this.

Ain't she pretty?

CZ
Old 03-20-2014, 05:51 PM

Awesome!!! I want one badly.
Old 03-21-2014, 06:48 AM

Welcome to the dark side!

A couple of guitars
A Merida DG16 Classical Guitar
A couple of banjos
A Yueqin
A Mountain Dulcimer that I built
A Hammered Dulcimer that I'm currently building
And a fiddle that I built!

Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
Old 03-21-2014, 07:01 AM
Charter Member

Growing up my brothers and their friends played guitars and were my early teachers.

One of my strong influences played banjo and took banjo lessons.

I would mess around on his banjo and I was a big Steve Martin fan.

Nice banjo - congrats!

Taylor GC7, GA3-12, SB2-C, SB2-Cp...... Ibanez AVC-11MHx , AC-240
Old 03-21-2014, 08:46 AM
Charter Member

Congratulations! I have an RK35 and an RK-OT25. Great banjos!

Todd
Old 03-21-2014, 11:59 AM

What is it about the sound of a 5-string banjo, that just automatically puts a smile on your face.

Congratulations Cue Zephyr, it's a beauty.

I just bought two 5-string banjo's myself; a Deering GoodTime, and a Deering Calico. I've got a lot to learn when it comes to doing proper Bluegrass finger-rolls, but it sure didn't take long to figure out a few chords and start playing and having fun.