The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 04-18-2014, 04:06 AM

Default Carpathian spruce and night harvesting

Recently I read that Carpathian spruce is often harvested at night and Monks are asked to pray for woodcutters while in the forest. I tried to find this reading again but couldn't locate it. Can anyone help with information about this interesting practice.
Old 04-18-2014, 04:35 AM

I'm not sure about the monks praying, but you will see "Moon Spruce" mentioned every once in a while. I have no experience or understanding how and if it affects anything, but I'll take any story people want to attach to a guitar I'm having built that's fun to tell

Burner MS #0013
Taylor 414rce
Taylor 716ce-ltd
Cordoba 75r
Old 04-18-2014, 05:53 AM
AGF Sponsor

Ervin Somogyi has something to say on the matter on his blog.

Perfecting the interface between you and your guitar.
wolframslides.com
Endorsed by Martin Simpson and Tony McManus.
Old 04-18-2014, 09:54 AM

There's a long thread by Rudi or Willi (from Blazer and Henkes) on the UMGF about Alpine spruce, the woodcutters who harvest it, when they cut it and why.

True or not, who knows. It's still a fun idea.

--edit--

Here's the link

Last edited by dneal; 04-18-2014 at 10:11 AM.
Old 04-18-2014, 01:41 PM

hi FF, why is the QWERTY keys layed out like they are ?, look into it and you'll find there's practical reasons for people doing what and when they do.
Woodsmen have harvested timber for millennia so they cut when the trees when it's most practical to do it - requiring less time to 'season', stabilize and sell, they produce timber for all sorts of purposes eg spruce shingles for alpine roofs, now ya dont want these warping and letting the snow melt in
folks just wouldn't buy your product and you'd go outa business - practicalities.

http://www.culturalcapitalcounts.eu/...nt=1&detail=79

Old 04-18-2014, 02:42 PM
AGF Sponsor