The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-02-2017, 12:27 PM

Default Beginner YouTuber looking for recording/mixing advices

Hello, so before I ask what I need advice for, I want to quickly say what do I need it for.

Currently I am studying classical guitar in Italy (I'm from Croatia, Europe btw) and I decided to open YouTube channel where I'll be posting videos. I mostly play instrumental guitar arrangements, I'm a really bad singer so I decided that I can sing much better with my guitar and fingerstyle comes in handy! In future I would like to make much better quality videos so people can listen but as we all do, I have to start from scratch.

I almost never experimented with any electric guitar, amplifications or anything, mostly played classical guitar.

When I decided to start with my project I had a budget of around 500 €. After some research I ordered USB audio interface (Focusrite Scarlett 2i4), MXL 603SPR Stereo Set, 2 mic stands, 2 pro snake TPM 6 cables and pop filter. (406 € w shipping) I use Adobe Audition for audio because I used it in my high school, it has what I need and even more and until I become much better in mixing I don't need much better program like Cubase etc...

The problem I am having is that I bought stereo mics but I never really utilized stereo mics so mostly I use only one because I don't know how to get better sound. I don't get much different sound with 1 or 2 mics. When I record my classical guitar I get a lot of bass out of it (if I move mic from the body then the sound is shallow and not so rich).

I am aware that one of the problems is that I am recording in standard bedroom because I don't have a budget yet to make silent room.