The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-03-2016, 07:40 PM

Default An Oil Varnish Thread...

Hi all

As a small-shop builder I have tried finishing my guitars with first French-polished shellac, and rattle can nitrocellulose lacquer. Although I have had reasonable success with both, I would like to try a brushed oil-varnish finish.

I know there are several high end builders who use varnish so it is undoubtedly a legitimate method.

I would like to start a thread where advice on materials and process can be put in one place as a resource for myself and others trying this out.

I live in Hong Kong so air freighting flammable materials is difficult, hence I think it's useful to say where things are available.

MATERIALS:

So far, recommended ready-made varnishes are:

Tru-Oil - easy to apply, a softer finish
Ace Hardware (USA)
Liberon Finishing Oil (UK) - Kevin Aram uses this for his classical instruments

Epifanes (Netherlands and elsewhere) - Laurent Brondel has developed a formulation involving 1-1-1 mix of Epifanes clear varnish (a long-oil varnish) with Epifanes accelerator (extra resin) and Epifanes thinner.

I'm really interested in any other commercially made ready-to-use short-oil varnish brands. The more choice we have, the more likely people can find them...

Apologies/props in advance to those I have name-checked. Please correct me if I have got anything wrong!

Last edited by capohk; 09-05-2016 at 12:48 AM.
Old 09-03-2016, 07:53 PM

PROCESS:

It would seem that some sort of sealer coat is necessary, especially on oily woods. I think most of us would want to grain/pore fill backs and sides as well so I think I will start with a shellac/pumice filler. I have also read about egg-white and I have used epoxy as a grain fill with some success, but for my purposes the shellac works well.