The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-08-2017, 03:53 AM

Default Wav > mp3

Lot's of discussion/debate surrounding these two aspects of digitally recorded sound. When I first read of it some years back I wasn't recording so could not relate.

I've been recording for a few years and now understand the sonic losses rendering to .mp3 from .wav files. When I'm in the DAW's .wav format and working a recording to a what I think sounds good, it changes once it goes to .mp3. There's certainly a loss of depth and sparkle between the two formats. Lately, once rendered to .mp3 and listening for those subsequent losses, I'll go back to the DAW and make an attempt to edit the .wav file to see if I can recapture them in the .mp3.

I have not rendered two basic .mp3 comparison tracks yet to see if I'm making the right changes. Anyway, just thought I'd make mention of it.
Old 08-08-2017, 04:38 AM

Pay attention to the bitrate of the mp3 file.
Never mix down as low as 120kbps.
You'll be able to hear the loss of frequencies.

I use 320kbps and can't hear the difference at all.

My tracks on SoundCloud (Lønhart Duo):

YouTube page:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZT...HIR4tGnwhusf8w

Taylor 324
Martin DX1AE
Gretch G5420T Electromatic
Aria Pro II Cardinal Series 250
Old 08-08-2017, 06:44 AM
Charter Member

As TallDrink said the bit rate makes a noticeable difference .

Quick crude MP3 analogy : When converting digital audio to MP3 it is like taking very thin slices out of a whole pie, the result is some of the content is missing. The lower the bitrate number, the larger the size of the slices removed.
Or removing pixels from a digital photo is often given as an analogy, the lower the bitrate, the more pixels are removed