The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-01-2017, 02:49 PM

Default simple audio setup to take a video with an iPhone7

Looking for a recommendation on a mic.

I see that there is an extensive discussion on the various studio setups you guys have, but I'm a beginner and looking to start things simple.

I want to take videos of my singing and playing acoustic guitar to critique myself and perhaps even post on youtube. I took some videos yesterday just on my iPhone7 setup about 3 feet away and the sound qualify seems ok.

I was shooting from an up angle where the guitar was closer to the phone camera than my voice so at times the guitar sound seemed to dominate, but overall not bad.

Am I correct in my expectation that a simple plug in mic to my iPhone will make a significant improvement in the sound quality from what I currently have without getting into some of the (seemingly) complex stuff I find in the discussions here.

And if so, what mic would you recommend?

Thanks in advance for your help. By the way, first time member, so Hello everyone.
Old 08-01-2017, 07:38 PM

Well, seems people are reading but no responses thus far. Let me know if I needed to be more specif on what I want to do... as I mentioned before, basically video myself to critique and perhaps upload to Youtube if I ever build up the nerve to do that.

Anyway, On my way home today, I stopped by a music store and bought a shotgun mic called AmpRidge MightyMic S. I made 2 recordings, one with and without the mic. I do hear a slighty improvement with the mic but not sure if the difference is enough to warrant the $50 I spent. I might decide to return it later but for now, not bad.

If anyone has any tips, things I should consider, please let me know. If you need to know my approx budget, I would say about $100.
Old 08-02-2017, 04:29 PM