The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-27-2017, 02:31 PM

Default Fretting hand hurting..

I came on to the forum about a week ago and I was planning to learn finger style. But since then I found Justin Guitar and I'm planning to use this site to learn. But now I also want to improve my rhythm guitar and a bit of 12 bar blues also I've started playing my first scale.
The problem is playing the scale and the 12 bar is hurting my right wrist, I'm OK using my pinky but when I use ring it hurts. Are there any exercises I can do to help to loosen up my old joints. I'm hoping over time my joints will loosen up.
Old 05-27-2017, 02:45 PM
Resident Guitar Hack

I started playing when I retired a few years ago...at age 63. To prevent developing hand problems I've been doing these exercises twice a day ever sense. Keeps my hands plenty limber.

Last edited by Rev Roy; 05-27-2017 at 03:41 PM.
Old 05-27-2017, 02:45 PM

I assume you're left handed. I have occasional pain from arthritis and simply playing helps loosen the joints - but that's fingers. When you say your wrist hurts I wonder if you're holding it at a strange angle?

You might try stretching your wrist - gently bending it down and holding it with your other hand, and then up. Maybe others have some exercises. Good luck.
Alvarez 12 String
Gibson ES345s
Fender P-Bass
Gibson tenor banjo
Old 05-27-2017, 03:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev Roy View Post
I started playing when I retired a few years ago...at age 63. To prevent developing hand problems I've been doing these exercises twice a day ever sense. Keeps my hands plenty limber. Hopefully they will help your wrist, too.

https://youtu.be/TSrfB7JIzxY
Rev, this is the YTV I always used to learn hand stretches as well. good stuff right there.

This is missed alot for guitar players and bass players alike

-OP