The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 02-17-2015, 11:06 PM

Default Backing tracks for gigging

I play out a lot and use a Drum Buddy foot pedal for percussion for my songs. I have no experience with any other method of using backing tracks for percussion as I perform. Got any ideas for me. This has to be very very simple. No computer recording, no fancy gear, no studio recording. Just keep it simple and short...KISS.

Thanks in advance for any ideas. I would love to try something new rather than the Beat Buddy. Even it is too tricky to program the drum songs or re-order them to match up with my set lists.
Old 02-18-2015, 04:25 AM
Charter Member

Why not just play with no gimmicks and be the real you?
Old 02-18-2015, 09:16 AM

Simplest backing tracks - MP3s loaded on an iDevice.
Looper with multiple memory locations - load tracks from computer to it.

My music: https://mikebirchmusic.bandcamp.com

2020 Taylor 324ceBE
2017 Taylor 114ce-N
2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73(?) Epiphone 6830E 6 string

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone

Kala baritone ukulele
Seagull 'Merlin'
Washburn Mandolin
Luna 'tatoo' a/e ukulele
antique banjolin
Squire J bass
Old 02-18-2015, 10:37 AM

The Digitech Trio looks pretty interesting to me.

http://digitech.com/en-US/products/trio
Old 02-18-2015, 12:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Lampton View Post
The Digitech Trio looks pretty interesting to me.

http://digitech.com/en-US/products/trio
Interesting, if you want band-in-a-box (rqather than the exact backing track you want), but looks like you have to 'teach' the pedal (up to 3 parts) for each song, can't set it up for more than one song at a time.

2020 Taylor 324ceBE
2017 Taylor 114ce-N
2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr