The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-06-2016, 09:51 PM

Default Need advice: group w/o drummer can't keep tempo

I've been playing in my church's praise and worship band for almost 10 years now. When I started there were four of us on guitar (I played electric to add some variety) and an equal amount of singers, mostly from the choir. At one point we had a drummer and a bass player and managed to keep a pretty good tempo but the added volume was not well received by the congregation. Nowadays we're just 2 acoustic guitar players, a piano player, a tenor sax and still about 4 singers, mostly women out of the choir. We play a lot of songs out of the hymnal but we also play a number of contemporary praise and worship songs that are well received.

The problem is that our timing and lead ins between verses are all over the place. It's not terrible but it's a recurring issue in that none of us seem to be able to keep a consistent tempo and at times it seems like anarchy is setting in. I find myself missing those days when we had some sort of percussion to take ownership of the timing. It's pretty much fallen to me by syncopating my strumming and using pick noises to add percussive effects but when we're all playing it's not always easy to hear me. I even brought in a small djembe and the music director tried her hand at it but it was very new to her and it didn't work out so good. The group relies on me to provide the bones of the rhythm playing so I can't move over the drums, nor would I want to unless I learned how to play a kick drum while playing guitar. Personally I don't want to do that and I think people would complain too.

So my question is this: since we can't have somebody handle percussion would be it advisable to suggest a metronome that the music director could use to sort of conduct us like she does with the choir?
Old 10-07-2016, 06:18 AM