The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-15-2015, 07:24 PM

Default Preamp recommendations?

I have been using the Lr Baggs M80 in my Martin OM-15 for the past 8 months, and have really been happy with it. But I don't love the way it looks in my soundhole, and honestly the majority of the time I'm playing unplugged or through a mic when I play out.
So I am looking into switching to the less entrusive K&K pure mini. But I understand I will need a good preamp with it to smooth out and enhance the tone. I have heard good things about the Baggs para di, but am really open to anything. My budget is under $200. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help!
Taylor GS-Mini Koa
Seagull S6 Folk
Old 03-15-2015, 09:18 PM
Charter Member

Radial PZ-Deluxe
Fire-Eye Red Eye
Ultrasound DI-Plus

and now I'm blanking.
Both the Red-Eye and PZ-Deluxe are fantastic. The PZ-Deluxe gives you more tone-shaping control.
And of course, there are also the preamps from K&K.
Old 03-15-2015, 09:24 PM

Took a gamble with the sansamp para DI----��. A very versatile piece. It's both a DI and a Sansamp and can be blended between the two. Don't ditch that M80 before you try one. You can color the top of that M80 in with a sharpie.....I hate the cream color too.
Old 03-15-2015, 09:59 PM

The new generation of preamps from Archangel looks promising. Loving getting to know my X7, but their first units with semi-parametric eq are due in the very near future, including dual-source.

https://soundcloud.com/mcshepherd

Axe (acoustic): 2013 Gibson J-45 Standard (w/hardware mods)
Pickup: BGM Elevation SBT
Preamp/DI: Archangel x7 (generation 7)
Tube Amp: Peavey Delta Blues 115
Old 03-15-2015, 10:49 PM

If you switch to the K&K try it without a preamp first, you may like it. If you feel you need a preamp there are lots of choices and they all work fine, you just need to identify the feature set you need.