The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-14-2018, 06:20 AM
Charter Member

Default Help with K&K mini pickup

I’m playing plugged in for the very first time. I have zero experience with this, but I got a pickup put in my guitar for a one time gig with a friend.

At our first practice, I was plugged into the PA and it didn’t sound as natural as I’d hoped. It wasn’t completely awful, but to me it sounded harsh and more like an electric than an acoustic. One of the guys plugged me through his pre-amp and did some adjustments, but it was still not great.

So, I’m wondering, should I get a pre-amp or DI that’s best suited to the K&K mini? Again, I can’t emphazize enough how little experience I have with this. To underscore that point, I don’t even know the difference between a DI and a Pre-amp.

Any guidance is greatly appreciated. References to specific products are especially welcome.
Old 03-14-2018, 06:24 AM

Default K&K Mini

The advantage of the K&K Mini ( and one of the reasons I use it) is no battery to change or worry about leaking.

One of the disadvantages is that they need a little help so most people use them with a DI or some other device before going into an amp.

I'm certainly no expert on amps and electronics, that's why I play acoustic.

But, even with the limited amount that I play amp'ed I've learned that a DI is essential.

Also, what kind of amp are you going into? There's a lot of fiddling with amps and electronics to get to a clean sound.
1968 Aria 6815 12 String, bought new
Old 03-14-2018, 06:32 AM

Here is a youtube clip of me practicing with our group. That is an Eastman E10D with K&K going straight into a Fishman Loudbox Mini:

https://youtu.be/fW-bDTxwIaw
Old 03-14-2018, 06:38 AM
Charter Member

Location: Stationary home in NJ. Mobile home on any given highway.

Hi Quickstep,