The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-28-2011, 05:48 PM

Default Why Does a Squier Sound Good to Me?!

I have been playing acoustic electric for about 10+ years but today I decided to "PLAY" with a Fender Squier Affinity (made in China). I turned up the gain and just played some songs and was surprised that I actually liked the sound that was coming out of the amp (Fender Frontman 25R). Is there something wrong with my ears?! This guitar and amp combined is only like $200 and the quality is supposed to be at the bottom level, isn't it? What's wrong with my ear? I can't wait to try an Fender American Strat or a Gibson Les Paul Standard.
Old 05-28-2011, 06:02 PM

$200 or not, if it sounds good to you and it is fun then all is good. Squier's can be pretty decent guitars (they are just kind of hit or miss). Alot of folks play them. Alot of them replace the pickups and electronics.

The biggest difference you would hear between the Squier and an Am Standard Strat would be the pickups and electronics. Yes, the Am Standard's neck, frets and finish are nicer, but depending on your Squier and how much you are gonna play maybe not worth the extra $.

I would first think of upgrading your amp.
Old 05-28-2011, 06:03 PM

If it sounds good it sounds good!!

Yamaha MIJ CJX32
Avalon L32
Avalon A32 Legacy
Lowden 022
Gibson J-185
Takamine TNV360sc
Cole Clark Fat Lady 3
Old 05-28-2011, 06:05 PM
Guest 2143