The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 09-24-2017, 02:09 PM

Default Wanted: Advice on Ukes

Hello All,

My wife and I bought our six-year-old daughter a soprano ukulele for her birthday along with lessons from a local instructor. I am a novice self-taught guitar player and I've been thinking it might be fun/helpful for me to learn ukulele along with her. I've been looking at tenor ukes as my understanding is that they can be tuned the same as a soprano, so she and I can use the same chord shapes, some of which I should recognize from guitar.

We live in a rural area so I won't have a good opportunity to play the uke before I purchase it. But based on reviews, I've narrowed down the purchase to a few possibilities in the $250-400 range. These include:

Cordoba 30T
Ohana TK series
Pono MT

Another possibility would be Mainland ukuleles, as I might be able to visit the finishing shop in Indiana.

At this price point I feel like I can't go too right or too wrong. But I'd welcome thoughts on these brands: glowing reviews, horror stories, whatever you've got.

Many thanks.
-----Alvarez MF75S
-----Guild F20SB
Old 09-24-2017, 03:26 PM
Charter Member

Keep you eyes open for an excellent cordoba uke used at Guitar Center. I've bought 2 cordoba tenor ukes there, in like new condition.

Of course, there are other brands of all sorts that appear.

30 day return policy is a big help too. Make sure you get an "in hand" description over the phone.

Used GC can be a really good thing. Good luck.
Old 09-24-2017, 06:51 PM

I have two Ponos and one Mainland and in my humble opinion you couldn’t go wrong with either make.
Old 09-24-2017, 08:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanque Verde View Post