The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-09-2013, 08:42 PM

Default Which Strings Sound best to you?

Just want to hear about your experiences with strings for any of you who have ever owned a Seagull. I am a beginner and im having different types of strings sent to me to try them out. Idk which kind came with my guitar but i like them. they were bright. I switched them to earthwood rock and blues and i dont like those as much. Just looking for opinions. not necessarily advice.
Old 01-09-2013, 09:22 PM

Default Which Strings Sound best to you?

I'd go for elixirs any day. They sound amazing plus they last forever. Give it a try and see. I buy the 12s

"When we are listening to the sound of a singer's voice, God is listening to the sound of a singer's heart."
Old 01-09-2013, 09:28 PM

Sam, I use John Pearse phosphor bronze strings on my Seagull 12 string and on my Simon & Patrick 6 string (which is made by the same company as the Seagulls and is structurally identical.) Both of those guitars have solid cedar tops and laminated wild cherry back and sides.

I've used both mediums and lights on the Simon & Patrick 6 string, depending on whichever I had on hand when it came time to change strings, and both sounded fine.

Hope this helps.

Wade Hampton Miller
Old 01-09-2013, 09:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by harindavid View Post
I'd go for elixirs any day. They sound amazing plus they last forever. Give it a try and see. I buy the 12s
Elixirs all day!!!!!
Old 01-09-2013, 10:00 PM

Vintages - Martin Phosphor Bronze Light/extralights

Resonators - Martin Bluegrass and Michel Messer 13-56

Little Martin - Elixir Nanoweb light 80/20
Old 01-09-2013, 10:13 PM