The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 11-25-2016, 08:19 PM

Default First scratch recording for second CD - please comment

My makeshift recording studio is ready and I spent a bunch of time today creating a scratch recording upon which I'll assemble the layers when my band comes in.

I feel that I've made good strides. The room seems to sound ok, it's pleasant to work in, and I think that I can do it. Please feel free to comment.

Last edited by buzzardwhiskey; 11-25-2016 at 08:52 PM.
Old 11-26-2016, 02:52 AM

Put my headphones on to listen since it seemed you were looking for recording quality critique from which I am no expert.

Sound was crisp and clear, sounded like a simple 4 chord progression with some nice picking adding in, what are those neat tricks?

Nice mellow, enjoyable tune although the F word just killed it for me.

Good luck
2006 Yamaha F200TXR 4 stroke. My Guitars - Yamaha FG700S Sandburst; Epiphone Les Paul Standard; 2018 Yamaha LL-16D Natural; Ibanez Talman Bass; Fender Standard Telecaster; Yamaha FG820-12 Natural; Yamaha FS830 Tobacco Brown Sunburst; ....A beginner practicing almost everyday since 12/15/14....{:::]==={=O=I}
Old 11-26-2016, 08:01 AM

I think you should be pleased. Enjoyed your song a lot, except as pollard21 says, the f--word is out-of-place with the style of the music. (This isn't hip-hop genre.) Intro reminds me a bit of Knocking on Heaven's Door.

Curious about your use of compression on the vocals.

As for recording, I'm curious what your 'makeshift' studio consists of?
Old 11-26-2016, 09:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfsark View Post
I think you should be pleased. Enjoyed your song a lot, except as pollard21 says, the f--word is out-of-place with the style of the music. (This isn't hip-hop genre.) Intro reminds me a bit of Knocking on Heaven's Door.

Curious about your use of compression on the vocals.