The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 11-09-2016, 05:09 AM
Guest4562

Default Trying to Clean Up Video Sound

I got some cellphone video of our recent performance that I'd like to edit to use for promotion. The audio has that tubby sound and some bar conversation intrudes from around the videographer, all of which is more than I can address with EQ.

Any particular software you can suggest? Thanks.
Old 11-09-2016, 08:28 AM
Guitar Gourmet

I do this for a living, like every day, so perhaps I can help.

There are some plug-ins that will help part of it it. First, to reduce room tone, try iZotope De-Noiser or Dialog De-Noiser. Room tone is the air conditioning and the refrigerator compressors, the steady-state noise in the background. Basically, these plug-ins work on the old post-production trick of looping a small chunk of room tone, reversing its phase, and blending it back in so that it reduces just the room tone. With De-Noiser you literally find a background chunk with nothing except the noise of the room, loop it, learn it, and use it to cancel out the room tone.

Next you've got reverb. I use iZotope De-Noiser. You adjust the reverb length of the room and then adjust a four-band expansion system to reduce reverb where it exists in the background spectrum. Ah, but it sucks the life out of a music recording, you say. Here's the secret: You need to tastefully blend in a tiny amount of controlled, artificial reverb to replace the polluted natural reverb once you suck it out.