The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 03-24-2013, 08:49 PM

Default Cedar Top (Maple) Parlor

Should be getting some wood for a Cedar top for a 12" - 13" lower bout guitar. I am wondering if maple for the neck, sides, and back would be a good combination and if there are guitars out there that I could pattern it after.
Old 05-11-2013, 07:33 AM

Came up with my own. Going with oak back and sides rather than maple and mahogany neck.

Hopefully the collective minds here can answer me a question given the vast experience with all makes of guitars. Cedar is said to have less headroom than spruce, would a thicker top give the guitar more headroom and allow the guitar to be as suited to chords and pick as fingerpicking? Any experience with smaller cedar topped guitars that can do both well?
Old 05-11-2013, 10:50 AM

Maybe not the answer you're looking for, but as a guitarist I've always been more drawn to an instrument that can do a few things very well, rather than a greater range of things but not as well.

To be more specific, I have a cedar-topped parlor guitar with a rather thin top. While it doesn't have as much "headroom" and isn't as well-suited for heavy strumming, it sounds amazing for fingerstyle. It's extremely lively and responsive, even with my very light attack. I don't wish that it was a more balanced or versatile instrument because it does what it does perfectly.

Just my opinion, and my observation that when I play guitars that seek to be several things at once, it usually fails at being any one of those things.
Old 05-11-2013, 12:01 PM