The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 11-20-2017, 03:58 PM

Default Amplifying a bluegrass trio (Large Cardioid Condenser)

Hi all. I am pretty new to mics and stuff, but I am starting a Bluegrass Trio and we plan on playing small venues (houses, coffee shops, etc). There will be two and three part harmonies and 3 instruments. While I would love to go traditional and one-mic-it, I am also a realist...

So I am considering a few options. Looking for suggestions for other stuff to look at, and look for. I am looking for nice warm vocals for 1 guy and 2 girls. Thanks.

Audio-Technica AT4033/CL
Ear Trumpet Labs Edwina (Stereo Pair most likely)
Ear Trumpet Labs Louise

Anything else I should consider? I am natually drawn to the design and aesthetic of the ETLabs models, but the cost is hard to swallow. I have access to instrument mics (2 Shure sm-57's) and an AT 5045 (I think) that I use with another project.

-Jacob
Kevin Enoch Tradesman Open Back Banjo
Collings MT2-O Honey Amber
Royce Burt #560 5-String Fiddle
Old 11-21-2017, 11:59 AM

The ETL mics are very popular in the rootsy acoustic music world these days. For good reason, I think. We have a Josephine and I like it a lot.
Old 11-21-2017, 01:20 PM

ETL mics have a real likeable sonic quality and obvious visual impact, especially for bluegrass. I have an Edwina. The only "but" is in all the videos you've seen and love, some sound "guy" has done several things to insure there's no feedback. I found this out the hard way, since I bought my Edwina for live purposes but couldn't control her by myself without a sound guy -- which would be a sad story, but I like both recording with her and rehearsing with her.