The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-17-2015, 07:39 PM

Default Fender Acoutic Pro Amp - HELP!! Expertise needed

Has anyone tried these out? I am new to acoustic amps (relatively) - but I played one of these yesterday at my local shop, and I was blown away. I went there to check out guitars, and ended up with this amp on my mind every second since leaving! This obviously comes with a hefty price tag (it would be my second amp, but my only amp right now - I sold a 40watt RMS a while back). So my question is - what is the philosophy here, should I spend more up front on one of these babies, rather than buy an amp for around $500, and wish I had saved up for the Fender? Does anyone have experience with these? Basically I am just an audiophile - I am not using this for gigging, I just love the sound I got out of it, and it will encourage me to play more!
Here is a link:
http://www.fender.com/guitar-amplifi...0.html#start=1
If you have any recommendations for other amps that are more affordable with AMAZING sound quality like this amp - I am all ears! I also am just stumbling upon PA systems for acoustics, but I have no idea how to set one up in terms of the parts I would need etc. Thanks guys - y'all are the best!

Ben

Last edited by bmesi; 12-17-2015 at 07:51 PM.
Old 12-17-2015, 08:37 PM

I think you'll discover a couple of things on this website...

First, Fender acoustic amps don't get a lot of love because, unlike their electric guitar amp counterparts, most folks just don't like 'em that much. Same goes for their acoustic guitars.

Second, I think many AGF members feel that, while the new Fender acoustic amps looks and sounds promising, there are several really nice proven amps in the same (relative) price range that been tried, tested and found road and tone worthy.

AER
Bose
Fishman
Schertler
Genz-Benz