The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 06-17-2010, 07:36 AM

Default My Trip to Jeff's Workshop

Hi All,

Indeed it is rare to build guitars for a living in Asia, let alone making it. Please allow me to share my trip journal, about a wonderful man, a luthier, Jeff Yong who is a self-taught luthier in Malaysia.

We were picked at some LRT station and straight to his workshop and very quickly we chatted a lot things regarding guitar construction ... especially the tradition fixations of certain guitar builders ... after hearing his thoughts on building guitars, I must say he is very forward thinking in this aspect. My sensing was he would not allow himself be bounded by certain paradigms in building guitar and also not afraid to challenge these boundaries that were once thought to be "unshakeable"... of course he shared his award winning experiences when one of his infamous Monkey Pod guitar beat 60 plus other hand-made guitars in a blind listening competition.

He was very generous about letting people in playing his guitars ... no $10 bucks cover charge, no need to inspect for scorpions belt, finger nails evaluation, etc ... nothing ... just play the guitars!

Here're some pictures for your viewing pleasure ...

Jeff getting an OM model made from ANGSANA tree ... yes these trees are of truck loads in Singapore and Malaysia ... when I saw the wood grains, I began to wonder why I got fixated to Brazilian Rosewood which is so far and scarce ...