The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 06-13-2010, 12:43 PM

Default Solid lining: why does it seem so rare?

I'm a very amateur player, and I've been lurking around here for the past few weeks trying to get up-to-speed on guitar construction and quality. So, thank you in advance for your patience.

Until recently, I didn't know anything about luthier-made or small shop guitars. In my ignorance, I understood Taylor and Martin to be "the best." So, when I started learning about the custom, "handmade" realm, I naturally began with R. Taylor. As it has been discussed on this forum before, they use a solid lining, not a kerfed one. It seems to me there is some consensus that a solid lining is superior. However, it also seems to me that very few luthiers admired here use one. Am I wrong in that perception, or is there a reason why it is the case?
Old 06-13-2010, 12:59 PM
Me

I don't agree with you that there is consensus. I would say that many agree, but I have no idea what the percentage is. When building it is easy to compare sides and solid linings do make the sides more stiff, but I don't think anyone knows if it matters for sound because when you add the top and back, those linings get lock in to the top. How much more stiff and better are the linings of the completed system? Does it make a difference in tone? I suspect there are no clear answers, just opinions. So I say buy the guitar that sounds the best to you without respect for the type of linings
Not wanting to speak for anyone, I'll just say what I do without commenting on others. For me it is a none issue because I make my guitars with double sides. These sides are stiff enough for me.
Old 06-13-2010, 01:36 PM

I think you will be quicker to get a consensus out of the legislature than you will out of the luthier community.