The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-14-2018, 10:03 AM

Question How Do You Use Your Delay Pedal?

Do you use it to "thicken" your acoustic tone, with very short repeats? Or do you use it for more echo and longer repeats? I'm trying to decide on a delay pedal. I've heard from some that a pedal with tap tempo is essential, and I've heard from others that it is not. Maybe it all depends on how you intend to use it.. I play primarily solo gigs and use a loop pedal. I'm new to delays, so I'm looking for your opinions and experiences. Thanks!
Old 03-14-2018, 10:55 AM
Charter Member

First, I don't go for a true acoustic tone. I use a Fishman Rare earth mag with some compression. i use delay with a short slapback effect. So it does thicken a bit. But I do a lot of stabs instead of strumming. I like The TC Electronics Flashback.

I never use tap tempo.
Old 03-14-2018, 10:59 AM

I don't use delay on acoustic guitar. I do like a little bit of delay to thicken vocals though.

Eastman E10OO
Eastman E1D
Eastman E1OM
Martin 000RS1
Eastman PCH-GACE
Recording King RP-06
Blueridge BR-40T Tenor
Gold Tone TG10 Tenor
Old 03-14-2018, 11:10 AM
Charter Member

I use either my Loudbox's on board delay or sometimes my MXR Carbon Copy which is analog; it's very warm. I use it with slight delay, minimal repeats and slightly to the dry side in the mix just to phatten up.
Old 03-14-2018, 12:29 PM