The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 07-15-2015, 02:44 PM

Default Beginning Fiddle- sources for purchase, advice

Hello all,
My stepdaughter (20) is looking to buy a fiddle. She's decided she can't live without learning, LOL. She's been playing guitar for about 3 years and while she's progressed nicely, she just wants to expand.

I have ZERO fiddle experience, and thought I'd ask here if anyone can point me to some good resources where I could help her find a good one to start on. She's going to be taking lessons from a guy local to her, but even some playing resources would be great. Any and all help/advice appreciated.

She'd prefer to start with a budget model (she's still a full-time college student who works full time) to make sure she's going to stay with it.

Thanks in advance.

Greg
Old 07-15-2015, 03:08 PM

First, when starting fiddle/violin, a teacher is invaluable, so you have a very good start. I cannot stress enough how important good instruction in the fundamentals, posture, left hand, bow hold, general bowing is.

With regard to an instrument, my advice is to rent for the first year. Your violin teacher will likely have a recommendation about where to rent, but if not, I have had good success with J.R. Judd in Pennsylvania.

www.jrjuddviolins.com

There are several reasons I recommend renting from a reputable string shop, and by reputable string shop, I mean a shop that specializes in string instruments, not a guitar shop with a lone fiddle hanging on the wall, and not a store that rents middle school band instruments.

1) When buying sight unseen, you can usually trust a quality string shop to have selected decent instruments and provided good setup. Both of these are critical.