The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 07-10-2015, 06:49 AM
Charter Member

Default Playing Bass

do you play all the chords when you play bass?

I switch to play bass if needed in my band. but I have no background of bass.

I just play bass(root) note and some scales as if I play acoustics..

I didn't get yelled at yet.. but just wonder if I am doing it right..

I have great respect for bass player after I messed up couple times..

like if you play G chord song. do you play all G B D?.. I play just G..and in transition to C .. I play B briefly and go to C ..

am I doing it right?

help~

Goodall Jumbo Royal Hawaiian

Merill & Co C-41

Merill & Co OM-18
Old 07-10-2015, 08:15 AM

Depends on the song! Often times going between the root and the 5th note (G-D for example when a G chord is being played) is the simple thing. There are 'walking bass' lines where the bass notes descend or rise through the scale. Listen to the original versions of the songs you are playing to learn what to do. If you're doing originals, do whatever sounds right.

My music: https://mikebirchmusic.bandcamp.com

2020 Taylor 324ceBE
2017 Taylor 114ce-N
2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73(?) Epiphone 6830E 6 string

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone

Kala baritone ukulele
Seagull 'Merlin'
Washburn Mandolin
Luna 'tatoo' a/e ukulele
antique banjolin
Squire J bass
Old 07-10-2015, 02:44 PM