The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 08-15-2002, 12:11 PM

Default Hit a wall...

This is a shameless request for some encouragement. I've only been playing seriously since last November but I felt pretty good about my progress. I was taking lessons but quit them after 9 months. The teaching style was a little stagnant for me. That coupled with soccer season for my two girls made it impossible to have any kind of set time for lessons. Anyway my desire to play is still as strong as ever but my practice routine has become quite stale. I run through some basic scales and arpeggios and then work on the few basic songs. Not that I'm an expert at any of this but I need something else to add a little flavor. A new song or a different drill of some sort. Plus a few words to get me off my arse. Anything. I used to have an audience of two but my 5 year old is tired of my "repetoire." My yellow lab is my only fan at the moment.

Cheers

Chris
Old 08-15-2002, 12:23 PM
Me

Chris,
I can relate. Ever try playing in front of a mirror? Just kidding.
I sparked my interest big time with the Tommy Emmanuel book/CD. I got it from Amazon.com. I hope that inspires you!
last night after practicing my wife was humming the song I was working on. Sure she was in the other room, but she was listening!
Old 08-15-2002, 12:30 PM

Smile It happens to all of us

Lots of plateaus, followed by lots of vertical growth. We all get stuck on something: a style of music, a lick, whatever. I was stuck on a "simple" chord transtion for weeks until I nailed it this morning before work...I'll probably screw it up when I get home tonight!