The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-03-2017, 09:44 AM

Default A question for the builders

I am a hobby builder and have picked up about everything I know about building here on this forum. Thanks to everyone who contribute.
I put a 25' radius on my tops and brace in a radius dish. I also contour my rims with the same radius dish by "driving the bus" (spinning the dish on the rims)
When bracing the top I put very little if any radius on the UTB to keep that part of the top fairly flat. My problem is the fall away the top has on it at the neck joint created by the radius dish . It always leaves a small gap just under the finger board extension right at the joint. I do sand where the extension will be glued to make it flat, but I don't want to make the soundboard too thin there. This part has always left me scratching my head about using the dish to put the radius on the rims because it will always leave that part slightly lower.
What am I missing ?
Is there something you use to fill that small gap?
See picture below.
Thanks in advance.
Travis

Last edited by TEK; 05-03-2017 at 10:29 AM.
Old 05-03-2017, 10:17 AM

Well, for one, 15' on the top is pretty tight. Not a lot if folks do that, I don't think. Nothing inherently right or wrong about it if it's by design and intent, but it's a bit of an outlier. More common is a 25-50' range.

Anyway, it looks like you need to sand a flat spot into the rims themselves. John Hall of Blues Creek guitars has some tutorials that could explain it better than I could through text...
Old 05-03-2017, 10:18 AM

Nice clean work btw!
Old 05-03-2017, 10:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon/Tinker View Post
Well, for one, 15' on the top is pretty tight. Not a lot if folks do that, I don't think. Nothing inherently right or wrong about it if it's by design and intent, but it's a bit of an outlier. More common is a 25-50' range.