The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 04-28-2016, 12:04 PM

Default Modeling amp/pedal for the confused newbie

Hi all,

I've been playing for a couple of years now, almost exclusively acoustic. I have a low end Epiphone SG, but when I pick it up, I really don't know what to do with it. I have an iRig and occasionally fiddle around with sounds and effects but usually end up with a headache and a bunch of tangled headphone wires.

I would like to explore available sounds & effects a little more without spending a pile of money. At a glance, the Fender Mustang I v.2 seems like a good place to start. Then maybe add something like the Line 6 M5 modeler? Basically, I don't yet know what I want out of an electric guitar. Hopefully that gives an idea of what I'm looking to achieve. I'd appreciate any suggestions about how to get there.

Thanks!
Old 04-28-2016, 01:06 PM

The Mustang alone can cover a lot of ground, especially with the included Fuse software. Amp, cabs, effects, etc can all be tweaked. Feature overload can be a big issue, though.

Do you know what kind of tone you are going after, or particular style of music? I used to run a wide range of pedals and amp models, and have slowly pared it down to one good clean, one good distorted, and one nice lead tone. It's easy to let obsessing over sound get in the way of simply playing and enjoying it.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Acoustics
2013 Guild F30 Standard
2012 Yamaha LL16
2007 Seagull S12
1991 Yairi DY 50

Electrics
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Fender Am. Standard Telecaster
Gibson ES-335
Gibson Firebird
Old 04-28-2016, 01:07 PM