The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 12-23-2014, 04:08 PM

Default Zoom H6 and some addtl questions

Hello folks,

As you may know Im a hobbyist who is trying to get a grasp of recording and playing guitar. Might I add its been overwhelming at times and I have not even scratched the surfaced.

Ive been experimenting with treatment in my house and wanted a recorder to bring places as well as do quick setups in my house without dragging my laptop and Apollo twin. The apollo twin is fantastic but it requires power which is limiting.

I really like the functionality and ease of use of the H6. Plenty of inputs and its really easy to navigate. Not sure im sold on the battery life. Two mics plugged in with Phantom hour on made them very battery hungry. I do like how it mounts on a tripod. I know its mainly to put on DSLRs and miking with but my tripod makes for a very good holder hahahha.

After conversations with some people I ended up with an H6. My main worry was noise but it seems ok. There is noise in this recording but it may be a cable im tracking it down. I unplugged the fridge and took the dog collars off but there is just some things I cant get away from specially when just noodling in the after noon.

Any tips or suggestions are welcome. Setup is Neumann TLM 102 and ADK A6. I have a second TLM102 otw so ill have a pair soon. There were spaced 24 inches apart and 16 inches from the guitar. Ill post the original and my eq'd track. Im new at eqing so any suggestions are appreciated.

Raw

Edit1

setup

Anyone have any suggestions on miking drums with two mics. I can use more when I get more stands since the H6 has more inputs. Here is a take. I am not a drummer, wife bought the drumset for herself last month as she wants to learn so were learning together.

drum Track

Setup
Old 12-23-2014, 04:29 PM
Charter Member